Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Chief Election Commissioner of GB takes oath

GILGIT: Rahim Nawaz Khan Durrani Tuesday took oath as first chief election commissioner of Gilgit-Baltistan administered by Chief Justice of Gilgit-Baltistan, Mohammad Nawaz Abassi.

There are at least 280 candidates left in field for the GB Legislature.

According to the final list issued by the first CEC of Gilgit-Baltistan, the most candidates are participating from LA-14, Astore-2; only two candidates are taking part from LA-12, Skardu 6, which is the least number of participants from a constituency.

A total of 370 nominations were received for 24 seats of Gilgit-Baltistan legislative assembly out of which 80 candidates have withdrawn.

No comments:

Post a Comment